This ain’t no Pinterest

I’ve baked and decorated some pretty good looking cakes over the last couple of years (if I do say so myself). I’ve been to classes, honed my piping skills, played around with fondant – and the results of all of these cakes end up on Pinterest.

I’m telling you now – this blog ain’t no Pinterest.

If you want beautifully designed, beautifully executed cakes that could stand proud at a proper 2016 adult party, go elsewhere. What you’re going to see here might not be pretty, but by golly it’ll be true to it’s 1980’s AWW roots.I’m using their 1980’s recipes, looking for as-close-the-real-thing props and decorations, and sticking with all of the original colour schemes. Kids these days mightn’t appreciate a typewriter birthday cake, but if you can appreciate it in all of its retro, suburban Australian goodness, then you’ll enjoy this blog.

I’m not doing this to improve my 2016-style cake deco skills. I’m not doing this to improve my creativity. I’ll be following those recipes to a T, and if I can’t I’ll be making it as close to the real thing as I can. I’m one cake in and this is already hurting my eyes and my teeth (who thought a packet on Jubes on a cake was a good idea?!) but I’m determined to see it through.

20 cakes in maybe I’ll change my mind and start doing some variations on cake flavour – after all, you’ll never be able to see that in the finished shot, but it will make it more interesting for those upon whom I’m forcing cake. If I find good recipes I promise I’ll share them.

But in the mean time, I just needed you to know. This ain’t no Pinterest.

beard cake
A Beard cake, baked for my brother’s 21st birthday
Leave a Reply

